The Role of Religion in America Today

09/17/2012 19:46

Religion is different for everyone. One may define religion as the belief in or worship of one or more un-human beings. Another mind may register religion as a group of people celebrating their spiritual experience in a joined combination. Religion has a big impact on most peoples everyday life, even if they are not religious. In America today, according to the U.S. Religious Landscape Survey, 78.4% of Americans are Christians, 4.7% of Americans are other religions. That adds up to 83.1% of Americans that practice a religion. That is over 8 out of 10 people that practice a religion of sorts. While I am not a religious person myself, I respect everyone who is and what they stand for. There are very many different types of religious people who choose to flaunt their religions in different ways. Churches represent themselves differently by their architecture and some people represent their religion through their clothing. My father believes that the United States, even though their are a variety of religions, are just as religious as some of the countries in the Middle East, which are sometimes thought of as highly religious. One thing that separates America is that everyone has religious freedom, which is one of the reasons why there is such a variety of different religions throughout the nation. 

    Religion is something that affects my everyday life because I go to a school that is part of the Quaker branch of Christianity. While I am not a religious person, I also volunteer at a church nursery to oversee kids. Throughout these experiences religion has touched my life and will always be part of my wonder and curiosity. Even though there is a wide spectrum of different religious people throughout America today, I believe that it affects everyone and touches them differently.